Practice 2/30

by Sarah

Practice 2/30: 12pm Power with Angela

All I could think about was how much I needed a towel. That girl makes you SWEAT. Today’s class was all about faking it until you make it. And while this is normally considered the thing to do, in yoga each pose is about so much more than ‘making it’. If you deny the integrity of the process, there is no point in going through the motions. One thing Angela said really clicked with me. She said she faked it by pretending she was ‘saving her muscles’ for later. Instead of giving everything to every pose, she would back off to save the strength for later. Like the yoga gods could only hand out a few gold stars each practice, and if you used them up early, sorry…no more for you.

This is totally how I fake it through power classes. Getting down into crescent lunge and putting the knee down so I can do warrior II later. What if I just did them both? I’m sure my body can handle it. I’m talking myself into going easy, but that’s really not what it’s about. Am I ‘saving’ up in other areas of life? The amount of effort I put into relationships? How much work I do on the job? Giving one hundred percent and not faking it is so important in my life. I need to do more than go through the motions, and people will respect the genuine me for doing that.

Namaste and happy sunny Wednesday to you!

