The Trend.

by Sarah

I’ve been called back to blogging for a few reasons. One, I have the time now. Two, I start teacher training in a couple weeks at Semperviva Teacher College, and I am just off the wall excited and scared. Three, I have something to say.

Why do we practice yoga?

Lately it seems like yogis are getting a bum rap from the rest of the world. We are whiny, spaced out and materialistic. The most important part of our practice is what we wear to it. If I had a nickel for the number of times I’ve heard the rather pointed: “I can’t afford yoga,” I would BE able to afford yoga. Recently my manager told me to be “more zen….like all that yoga you do.” I was a little insulted. And, I had to stop to think about why. Why does it matter so much to me what everyone else thinks about yoga?

I strive to practice authentically.

I think there is a lot to be said for the various benefits of a consistent yoga practice. When I am involved in yoga I honestly feel more myself, and that I make better decisions in my life. For me this might not mean being ‘zen’. The ‘real me’ is driven and passionate, and doesn’t just go with the flow, which is something yoga helps me realize, and balance, but not eliminate. My body is happier, and physically sore for the right reasons. Yoga may be trendy, and this is definitely evident in Vancouver, but its based off of principles thousands of years old. Its an ever-evolving animal, and regardless of my feelings for the current kombucha drinking followers, I honestly believe that yoga will be around for a long time.

So I’m currently searching for the nuggets of realness found in yoga. I’ve been doing a lot of reading on Hinduism, and I think the spirituality found in a meditation is one of the most important parts to stay true to. BUT, it’s any level of spirituality that’s important, regardless of how each person embodies that principle. Yoga is not a religion, it’s not a cult and it shouldn’t be solely valued as a workout regime.

It’s with this understanding that I am embarking on a lifetime long journey of teacher training. I can’t wait.

